Faculty Council of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics

The Faculty Council decides on the use of faculty recources (financial and material resources, staff, rooms etc.) and on fundamental issues concerning the research and teaching of the faculty.


Summer semester 2022:

  • 27. April 2022
  • 25. May 2022
  • 29. Juni 2022
  • 20. June 2022 Sondersitzung
  • 20. September 2022 Sondersitzung

Winter semester 2021/22:

  • 26. October 2022
  • 23. November 2022
  • 21. December 2022

Time & Place

Start: 2.15 pm



The Faculty Council consists of 13 members, which are elected directly by status group. It is chaired by the Dean, who is not, however, entitled to vote. Members of the Dean's Office and the Decentralised Equal Opportunities Officer take part in the meetings of the Faculty Council in an advisory capacity.

Faculty Council, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics


Prof. Dr. Ulrich Derenthal

Vice Dean

Prof. Dr. Alexander Heisterkamp

Dean of Studies

Vice-Dean of Studies

Representatives for professors

Prof. Dr. Roger Bielawski
Prof. Dr. Michael Oestreich
Prof. Dr. Stefan Schreieder
Prof. Dr. Christoph Walker
Prof. Dr. Clemens Walther

Teaching Staff Deputy Representatives

Prof. Dr. Thomas Gawlick
Prof. Dr. Reinhard Hochmuth
Prof. Dr. Silke Ospelkaus-Schwarzer
Prof. Dr. Matthias Schütt
Prof. Dr. Thomas Wick

Representatives for research staff

PD Dr. Michael J. Gruber
Dr. Kai-Martin Knaak

Scientific Staff Deputy Representatives

Dr. rer. nat. Notker Fechner
Dr. Marcos Soriano Sola

Technical and administrative staff representatives

Representatives for Doctoral Candidates

Non-public person

Technical and administrative staff deputy representatives

Madeleine-Yasmin Miltsch
Non-public person