Faculty Council

Faculty Council of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics

The Faculty Council decides on the use of faculty recources (financial and material resources, staff, rooms etc.) and on fundamental issues concerning the research and teaching of the faculty.


Summer semester 2020:

  • 06. May 2020
  • 27. May 2020
  • 24. June 2020

Winter semester 2020/21:

  • 28. October 2020
  • 25. November 2020
  • 13. January 2021

Time & Place

Start: 2.15 pm

Room A116
Appelstraße 11A


The Faculty Council consists of 13 members, which are elected directly by status group. It is chaired by the Dean, who is not, however, entitled to vote. Members of the Dean's Office and the Decentralised Equal Opportunities Officer take part in the meetings of the Faculty Council in an advisory capacity.

Faculty Council, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics


Prof. Dr. Clemens Walther


Prof. Dr. Ulrich Derenthal

Dean of Studies

Prof. Dr. Christoph Walker

Vice-Dean of Studies

Prof. Dr. Detlev Ristau

Teaching Staff Representatives

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Bauer
Prof. Dr. Roger Bielawski
Prof. Dr. Reinhard Hochmuth
Prof. Dr. Michael Oestreich
Prof. Dr. Tobias J. Osborne
Prof. Dr. Marc Steinbach

Teaching Staff Deputy Representatives

Prof. Dr. Christine Bessenrodt
Prof. Dr. Sven Beuchler
Prof. Dr. Thomas Gawlick
Prof. Dr. Rolf Haug
Prof. Dr. Eric Jeckelmann
Prof. Dr. Silke Ospelkaus
Prof. Dr. Elmar Schrohe
Prof. Dr. Matthias Schütt
Prof. Dr. Gunther Seckmeyer

Student Deputy Representatives

Non-public person
Non-public person
Non-public person

Representatives for Research Staff

Dr. Florian Leydecker

Deputy Representatives for Research Staff

Non-public person
PD Dr. Michael J. Gruber
Dr. Marcos Soriano Sola

Administrative and Technical Staff Respresentatives

Non-public person